Category Archives: Announcements

TCS 2018-2019 Season

Help us celebrate our 50th season


Tickets on Sale Summer 2018
Look for future announcements for more information about:
artistic staffing needs, auditions, ticket sales, and performance details.

2018-2019 Banners Updated - 150 dpiOur Mainstage Productions:

Lizzie: The Musical – Fall 2018
It’s a Wonderful Life – Winter 2018
Children of Eden – Winter 2019
Steel Magnolias – Spring 2019

Spelling Bee is SOLD OUT!

Thank you to all our patrons for their ticket purchases! The second weekend (May 4-6) of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is SOLD OUT. What a fantastic way to end our 2017-18 Mainstage season.

Thank you for supporting local community theatre!


What’s All the Buzz About?

Opening weekend of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee – Music & Lyrics by William Finn; Book by Rachel Sheinkin; Conceived by Rebecca Feldman – was a resounding success. Our amazing cast and creative team have brought together all the elements to give the audience an exciting romp through the middle school spelling bee – full of drama, family, desperation, hope, friendship, and perseverance.

We have three performances left and two are SOLD OUT!

If you want to be part of The Bee – there is limited availability for Sunday, May 6 for the 2PM matinee. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit our Tickets Page.


Special Guest Spellers for Each Night of the Bee!

TCS is excited to announce our Special Guest Spellers for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. See how far they get in the Bee. They might have to spell words as easy as “bee” or as complicated as “antidisestablishmentarianism” (though probably not something that difficult…).

Friday, April 27 — 8PM — ALI MAHON

  • Drama teacher at Belmonte Middle School in Saugus and youth theatre director at Marblehead Little Theater

Saturday, April 28 — 8PM — “BIG LEAGUE BRIAN”

  • Brian Dwyer, stilt walker for the Boston Red Sox

Sunday, April 29 — 2PM — MIKE BROWN

  • Member of the Blue Man Group

Friday, May 4 — 8PM — STEVE BOCCELLI

  • Property Manager of Central Storage in Saugus and Saugus Chamber of Commerce Member

Saturday, May 5 — 8PM * — DAVID PALEN

  • Special education teacher at Winthrop High School and lead singer of the rock band  Somerset

Sunday, May 6 — 2PM — MISS BOSTON 2018

  • Madison Trimbey Cota, won the 2018 Miss Boston pageant and competed in the 2017 Miss USA pageant as Miss Vermont

* May 5 is Adult Night at the Bee 18 and older and includes: Pre-Show Reception — 8PM and Performance — 9PM

Tickets on sale for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Tickets are now on sale for our spring 2018 show:  The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.

Book by Rachel Sheinkin, music and lyrics by William Finn, and conceived by Rebecca Feldman. Additional material by Jay Reiss, originally directed on Broadway by James Lapine, and originally produced on Broadway by David Stone, James L. Nederlander, Barbara Whitman, Patrick Catullo, Barrington Stage Company, and Second Stage Theatre.

Performances are Fridays-Sundays, April  27-28-29 and May 4-5-6, 2018.  Fridays and Saturdays at 8:00 PM, and Sunday afternoons at 2:00 PM.

One of the performances will be the Adult Night at the Bee.  At which naughty words are spelled or misspelled, so admission is only for ages 18 and older.  All other performances are appropriate for all ages including children.

Performances take place at the American Legion Post, 44 Taylor Street in Saugus.

See our The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee page for more info about the show – including a full list of the cast.

See our Tickets page to purchase or reserve seats.

See our Directions page for how to get to the venue.

Spelling Bee verbiage only

Almost, Maine Work Sessions

We have several work sessions coming up for which we could use your help.

  • Saturday 3 February 2018, 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.  We will continue the cleaning and reorganization of our costumes and props storage room.  At Central Storage  /  222 Central Street  /  Saugus, MA  01906.  In the upstairs room #372.  We will also sort through our scenery in our downstairs room #109, getting stuff ready for the Almost, Maine load-in.
  • Monday 5 February 2018, 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM.  Load-In and Set Assembly for Almost, Maine.  We will transport set pieces from Central Storage to the American Legion  /  44 Taylor Street  /  Saugus.  Then we will assemble the set platforms and flats.  Your help is especially needed if you have a truck or van or a car with a roof rack.  Bring construction tools.
  • Tuesday 6 February and Friday 9 February, 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM.  Continue work on set construction, set painting, and hanging the lights.  At the American Legion.

If you would like to volunteer, or have questions, contact us at or 781-816-7019.  Thank you!

Need artistic staff for Spelling Bee

We have changed the plan for the spring musical.  We will be doing The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.  Performance dates are currently scheduled for the last weekend of April and the first weekend of May 2018.

We are in need of the artistic and technical staff for the show.  We need a Director, Choreographer, Musical Director, Technical Director, Stage Manager, and Producer.

If you are interested in any of these jobs, please send a letter of interested with theatrical resume to us at  Interviews will be scheduled in the next few months.