Auditions for Mis-Cast Cabaret

We are excited to announce Auditions for our Mis-Cast Cabaret.  A musical revue featuring songs (or scenes or dances) performed by the wrong actors.  Your chance to perform a number you couldn’t (or shouldn’t) normally be cast in!

The audition date is Monday 24 October 2016.  (Other times can be arranged by appointment.)  The performances are on December 2-4, 2016.

For complete information, see our Auditions page.


So Many Heathers

Theatre Company of Saugus will soon present our Halloween-season production of Heathers the Musical. The new comic thriller musical based on the so very late-1980s movie Heathers.

While there are so very many Heathers in the show, there is limited seating in our venue.  Get your tickets now before they are gone!  For complete information about purchasing or reserving seats, please visit our Tickets page.

Two of the performances are sold out.  There are seats available for all the other shows, and we are offering a discounted price on the two Sunday matinees.

We are offering a four dollar ($4) discount for the two Sunday matinee performances.  The discount is taken off the price of up to four (4) seats on an order.  To get the discount, you must purchase tickets in advance online with a credit card, before the weekend.  To get the discount on Sunday 30 October, you must purchase by Thursday 27 October.  Start at our Tickets page.  Go to the link to purchase tickets now online.  Use this coupon code:  SHINE2

For the cast list and more information about the show, please see our Heathers page.

Performances are 21-30 October 2016, Fridays & Saturdays at 8:00 PM, with Sunday matinees at 2:00 PM.

The show will be at a new venue for us, the American Legion hall in Saugus, Massachusetts.  Featuring a cash bar with beverages and other refreshments available before the show and during intermission.  Please visit our Directions page.


Founders Day 2016

Founders Day is the annual street fair in Saugus Center.  Vendors, games, food, performances, and the presentation of the Saugus Person of the Year.  Saturday 10 September 2016 from 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM.  On Central Street north of the monument at Main Street.

Come visit the Theatre Company of Saugus booth, on the sidewalk right in front of Town Hall.  Enter a raffle, get discount tickets to Heathers, learn about our upcoming season and past shows.

TCS will perform numbers from our shows, starting at 2:15 PM, on the front steps of Town Hall.  Come watch cast members from:

Out of the Darkness

Thank you for supporting TCS as we walk to fight suicide in the Out of the Darkness North Shore Walk.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is the leader in the fight against suicide. They fund research, create educational programs, advocate for public policy, and support survivors of suicide loss. AFSP has local chapters in all 50 states.

They held a sponsored walk on the North Shore, and TCS participated.  The walk was on Saturday 24 September 2016, starting at 10:00 AM at the Common on Lake Quannapowitt in Wakefield.

The TCS team raised $625 in sponsored donations, exceeding their fundraising goal.

Thanks to Walkers and Donors like you, AFSP has been able to set a goal to reduce the annual suicide rate 20% by 2025.

Theatre Company of Saugus and the cast and crew of Heathers: the Musical walked as a team this year.  Heathers, although set in the 1980s, deals with many relevant difficult issues, which we as a company plan to use our production and community platform to help “Shine a Light” on.  Suicide, mental illness, bullying, gun violence, to name a few, are issues that darkened our society then, and sadly still do today.  We want to “Shine” our light, as we walk “Out of the Darkness”. 

We joined the community of nearly 250 thousand people walking in hundreds of cities across the country in support of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s mission to save lives and bring hope to those affected by suicide.

Now that the walk is done, come see our production of Heathers the Musical, and see how it deals with the issues created by mean kids in high school.

William Fafard Jr. in Cats

Click here for an article about William Fafard Jr., who appeared in a summer stock production of Cats at the Star Theatre in Kittery, Maine.  William, and other family members, have been in many TCS productions for over a decade.  The article, by , appeared in the Saugus Advertiser on Wicked Local.


Planning for the 2017-2018 Season

It is time to plan our next season 2017-2018.  You are all welcome to join the Play Reading & Season Planning Committee.  We have two meetings scheduled so far:

  • Wednesday 10 August 2016 at 7:00 PM
  • Thursday 25 August at 7:00 PM

The location of both meetings is the American Legion.  (In a different room than the Heathers rehearsal that will be going on at those times.)  See our Directions page.

There are four show slots to fill.  We will most likely want to do the next in the series of Nunsense shows.  The season should also include at least one Play.  Possibly another musical.  Possibly some sort of revue.  Possibly some sort of Christmas show.  We are open to your suggestions.

If you have suggestions, or questions, please contact our Committee Chairperson, Stephen Russo, at

EMACT Festival 2017 Proposals

TCS would like to present an entry at the EMACT Festival in June 2017.  (We brought our production of Macbeth to the 2014 Festival.)

We are now accepting proposals for a production at the next Festival.  A show that runs in less than an hour.  And has a set that can be assembled in under ten minutes, and can be disassembled in under ten minutes.  The show can be a play or a musical, a one-act, or a cutting of a longer show.

A proposal should explain the show, and include who will be the Director and other staff.  Please send your proposal to us at  We will schedule an interview with the Board.