Board Nominations and Election 2020

The election is coming up for the Board of Directors of the Theatre Company of Saugus. The election will be at our held at our Annual General Membership Meeting on Wednesday 2 December, starting at 7:30 PM. The meeting will be held via Zoom. All current company members should attend.

The board has nine members, with staggered terms lasting three years. Three members are elected near the end of each calendar year. Officers are chosen by the new and old board members in December.

This year, we need to nominate at least two new people. These terms of these board members are expiring:

  • Amanda Allen, our current president, is term-limited, so we need to replace her with a new person.
  • Deirdre Shaw, our current corresponding secretary, is eligible for a second term, and is willing to continue.
  • Mike Giusti has chosen not to continue, and needs to be replaced.

The other continuing members of the board include: Jeff Bliss, Matthew Garlin, Alicia Murphy, Allison Perry, Sean Perry, and Larry Segel.

The Nominating Committee has selected the following slate for election to new three-year terms starting in January 2021:

  • Victoria Isotti
  • Deirdre Shaw
  • Jill Sliby

The following people have also been nominated as Alternate Board Members. Alternate members also participate in board meetings, but are only called on to vote when we do not have a quorum of regular members.

  • Rosemary DeGregorio
  • Ben Tan

What is required of board members? There is a board meeting every month. During the pandemic, we have met remotely via Zoom. The remote meetings will continue even after the pandemic is over, so commuting to meetings will not be required. Board members also serve on committees, and take an active role in productions and on other company projects.

Many thanks to Amanda and Mike for your years of service!

Comments are closed.